Ever since I found out about the gluten thing, I've been reading labels. I have to. I buy shredded cheese and I have to find one that specifies what kind of plant cellulose they are using to keep it from "caking." I have to look to see if the flavorings are natural or artificial because I've learned the hard way that artificial flavorings can sometimes be suspect.
I'm, sadly, learning what things like carageenan are (its extracted from red seaweed...nummy nummy!).
I'm lucky, I know that I don't have to learn all the things that they call dairy or soy, but still.
Today, I learned that one of the sodas that I've been drinking has an extract from wood. Now it's not something that is glutenous, but the idea of it put me off of the soda. Why would that be in there?
I'm sure that people love watching me shop. I pick up a product, squint at the label (I usually scan it for the "gluten free" label), then purse my lips in frustration and put it back on the shelf.
The worse part, though, is that the past couple of weeks when I've gone shopping those conniving little gluten peddlars, the Girl Scouts, have been outside the store trying to lure me to the sick side of the street with their evil Thin Mints. I have thus far, abstained. (sigh)